NAAA Annual Awards

Since the early days of the Association, NAAA has recognized the outstanding achievements of individual members through the NAAA Annual Awards. At the 48th Annual Convention & Exposition in Louisville, Ky., NAAA will recognize a new crop of individuals who have helped the industry and the Association chart a confident course for agricultural aviation.

The deadline for the 2014 NAAA Awards is Sept. 12. There are 10 NAAA Award categories and one NAAREF award, the Evans-Christopher Operation S.A.F.E. Award. The Awards Nomination Form is available as print-only and fillable PDFs . Fax or email completed entries to (202) 546-5726 or For typed submissions, please use the fillable form. Please call (202) 546-5722 with any questions.

Group shot of the 2013 NAAA Award recipientsNAAA presented its 2013 Awards to 13 deserving recipients. From left to right, John Robert Horne Memorial Award recipient Mike Rivenbark; Related Industry Award recipient Larry Sneed; Tressa Larson, who accepted the Larsen-Miller Community Service Award on behalf of the late John Larson; Opal & Bill Billion Memorial Award recipient Peggy Knizner; Outstanding Service Award recipient Jeff Summersill; VP of General Aviation Denis Parisien, who accepted the Agrinaut Award on behalf of Pratt & Whitney Canada; William O. Marsh Safety Award recipient Brian Rau; Most Active Woman Award recipient Lynn Baxter; and Outstanding Service Award recipient Leif Isaacson. Award recipients not pictured include Wade Berry, John Robert Horne Memorial Award; Alan Corr, Evans-Christopher Operation S.A.F.E. Award; Tom Harkin, Allied Industry Individual Award; and Opal & Bill Binnion Memorial Award recipient Covington Aircraft Engines.


NAAA Award Categories

Illustration of award winner holding a trophy

  • Agrinaut Award: Honors the agricultural aircraft operator or operating organization that has made an outstanding contribution in the field of ag aircraft operations. The recipient for the award must be or have been actively engaged in commercial agricultural application with an agricultural aircraft and the achievement cited should be a “state of the art” contribution for the benefit of the agricultural aircraft industry as a whole.
  • Allied Industry Individual Award: Recognizes the NAAA members or staff and/or an allied industry individual who has significantly contributed to the allied industry and their exhibit efforts.
  • Delta Air Lines “Puffer” Award: Recognizes the individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the design of agricultural aircraft and/or related equipment.
  • Evans-Christopher Operation S.A.F.E. Award: Recognizes individuals or entities that have made outstanding contributions to the Operation S.A.F.E. program. This Award is presented by NAAREF.
  • John Robert Horne Memorial Award: Honors a pilot with five years or less experience in the agricultural aviation industry that has an exemplary safety record and/or has contributed to safety in ag aviation.
  • Larsen-Miller Community Service Award: Recognizes outstanding contributions by a member to his community.
  • Most Active Woman Award: Recognizes an outstanding contribution by a woman who is active in the affairs of the industry or the association.
  • Opal & Bill Binnion Memorial Award: Acknowledges those who contribute to the WNAAA in their efforts to educate the public about aerial application.
  • Outstanding Service Award: Awards outstanding service to the commercial agricultural aviation industry or to its association.
  • Related Industry Award: Recognizes outstanding contributions by an allied industry member and his company.
  • William O. Marsh Safety Award: Recognizes significant achievements in safety, safety education or an outstanding operational safety program.