Telly Award

The 2003-2004 PAASS Program Won the Telly Award

Three case studies consider factors that influence pilot decision-making, offer participants the opportunity to analyze contributing factors, and find effective ways to break the error chain. The ensuing human factors discussion will help refine the agricultural aviator’s decision-making process and result in fewer aircraft accidents, fatalities and drift incidents. This presentation highlights typical personality traits of agricultural aviators, the problems that could arise in reaction to stressful situations, and provides techniques for avoiding negative reactions to stress. It also discusses risk management assessment in aerial application and the factors involved in the aviation decision-making process. The goal is to induce specific behavioral change by producing an educational program that will help agricultural aviators further improve and develop their decision-making skills.

Telly Award

The Telly Awards competition was founded in 1980 to showcase and give recognition to outstanding non-network film and video productions.

Judges, representing a cross section of American producers, evaluate each entry on its own merit using a high standard of excellence which makes receiving an award that much more impressive. Telly Award winners are chosen based on program content, and do not compete against each other. Entries scoring 7.0 to 8.9 on a 10-point scale are finalists. Entries scoring 9.0 or higher are winners.

The Telly Award, a highly respected international competition, is one of the most sought-after awards in the video industry. Category winners receive the silver Telly statuette while finalists receive a bronze statuette.

Past winners include California State University, Center for Instructional Development & Research, Johns Hopkins University, Michigan State University, National Geographic, Peace Corps, South Carolina Department of Safety, Texas Tech University, University of Nebraska, University of New Mexico, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Wichita State University, Wright State University, USDA, and the US Navy.